Christmas Music I Actually Enjoy!

23 12 2008

I’m not a huge fan of Christmas music.  I know that makes me the odd man out, especially this time of year.  Our church secretary would probably start playing Christmas music in July if she could, and she (and Dave… and many others!) usually give me a hard time for being such a “Grinch” about Christmas music.

However, this year I’ve found a Christmas album I can’t stop playing.

One of my favorite musicians, Fernando Ortega, has just released Christmas Songs.  Like he does so wonderfully and so often, he has taken songs that most of us could sing our our sleep and breathed new life into them. Christmas favorites like “O Little Town of Bethlehem” and “Angels We Have Heard on High”  are arranged in such a way that numbing familiarity melts away and the beauty of the lyrical message comes shinning through.

Take a few moments to watch this little video, in which Fernando explains some of the stories behind the songs, his reason for doing new arrangements, and plays through a couple of the pieces.  Then go to iTunes or Amazon and buy this album.  I’m enjoying it so much, you might even find me listening to it in July!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 12 2008
Rachel

Mom actually doesn’t start listening until after Thanksgiving, usually. But I started around September this year. But I’m not ashamed of that. Though mom was making fun of me about that.
So, enjoy your Christmas cd, next year it will be country Christmas cds!

23 12 2008
Ryan

a Country Christmas CD?!? Blasphemy!

23 12 2008
Susan

Awesome! We’ve gotta get this one!

23 12 2008
Rachel

I think I know what to get you for your birthday then. :)

23 12 2008
Sarah

Love that one! We’re big Fernando fans here. I was so excited to see his Christmas album because I knew it would be quality stuff. Its been on my Rhapsody mixer for days. (<— Don’t I sound so high-tech?!)

Merry Christmas, you guys!

Sarah

PS I grew up on John Denver Rocky Mountain Christmas. I must admit I’ve broken out that one, too. Its definitely not kosher though.

Leave a Reply

