The Day I’m Longing For…

18 09 2008

This morning I was reminded of the wonderful proclamation of Habakkuk 2:14: “For the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea.”

Lately, life has been filled with a lot of trials and difficulties.  All around us, people we love and care for have been hurting.  Some have brought the pain upon themselves, others have had it brought upon them by those close to them.  In all cases, it has grieved my heart and burdened my spirit.  But there is coming a day when all of this ugliness will be gone and the earth will be filled with truth and righteousness and joy and peace, all of it centered in the person of our Lord.

In that day, the knowledge of the Lord’s glory will be as extensive as the “waters” that “cover the sea.”  Note that it is not “as the waters cover the earth” (which would be pretty extensive), but “as the waters cover the sea.”  That is total.  That is universal.  And that is beautiful.

In that day, it won’t be about me and my ego or you and your’s.  It will only be about Christ.  Seeing, beholding, enjoying, delighting in who He is and what He has done.  It won’t be about how your spouse has wronged you, how people are slandering you, how life has mislead you, or how hurt you are; it will all be about Him. How I long for that day.

But, as I thought about that day, I had to ask myself if I could bring some of that day to this day.  I think we can.  Actually, it is what we’ve been called to do.  1 Corinthians 10:31 commands us: “Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”  From day one, it is all supposed to be about Him.  So, how can we live today that way?  How can we manifest Habakkuk 2:14 in our life?  How can we see that the knowledge of His glory fills our life as the waters cover the sea?

I think it begins by making sure that what we are passionate for and that for which we fight and battle is not our own way or our own defense, but the proclamation of Christ and his Gospel.  It looks like us entrusting ourselves to Him who judges righteously (1 Peter 2:21-23) and then faithfully seeking His revealed will for us.  For some, that will mean being a living example of 1 Peter 3:1.  For others, it will be embracing Hebrews 13:17.  For many it includes a renewed commitment to faithfully obey 1 Peter 5:6-7.  For me, Habakkuk 2 has led me back to the pastoral epistles.  I’ve gone there again to be reminded of God’s will for me as a man in ministry. I’ve seen my call to “fight the good fight,” to have love as the goal of my instruction, to pursue godliness through discipline, and to endure persecution and suffering for the sake of my Lord and His glorious Gospel.

And my belief is that the more faithful I am to these truths, the more I will be manifesting “the day I’m longing for” today.

Actions

Information

One response

18 09 2008
Amy

Thank you for this today! I ecspecially liked the 1 Peter passage. I love that He is our rock and refuge and He wants our cares. We don’t deserve that at all, but His love is uncontional! I am so thankfull for that! (and for you!!)

Leave a Reply

