Psalm 32 Part 3 – Coming Into the Light

17 09 2008

I am working through Psalm 32 in an attempt to share it’s depth with you as well as help my endeavor to commit it to memory.  Read my thoughts on the previous stanza here.

Psalm 32:5

“I acknowledged my sin to You,
And my iniquity I did not hide;
I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the Lord’;
…”

There’s one more line to that stanza, but I want to keep it secret for just a moment.  Kudos to you if you already know the line!

This is a hard step to take.  To examine yourself and acknowledge the filth that you are covered in and bring that before the Lord is a serious blow to your ego.  When we fail, it’s a natural tendency to want to crawl under a rock and disappear.  It isn’t easy to come out of the shadows and admit to what we’ve done.

Although on another level, it seems so silly to be afraid to admit our failures to God.  He already knows!  In a sense, everyone else knows too.  I like the way Milton Vincent talks about it (as examined here by my esteemed colleague).  The very fact that Christ died on the cross is a giant neon billboard proclaiming our wretchedness.  Christ died the most horrible death for each and every person.  You can look around and know that every person you see today is responsible for Christ’s death, yourself included.  That’s a pretty demoralizing admission when you think about it.

We still push against confession, however.  We attempt to fool the world and ourselves that we’re not that bad.  Holding on to that lie will keep you in the prior stanza of this psalm… not a fun place to be.

That said, let’s say that you take that step and come out of your hiding place and say to God “I’m guilty”.  So what?  God is fully capable and justified in squishing you like a bug, so why does it even matter?  Let’s go back and add in the last line:

“I acknowledged my sin to You,
And my iniquity I did not hide;
I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the Lord’;
And You forgave the guilt of my sin

Don’t let a small and seemingly innocuous line be lost on you.  That line is one of the greatest wonders of the universe.  That line is what makes the difference between never-ending anguish and everlasting joy.  If you didn’t read that line and get choked up, you should probably read it again until you do.  God forgave you!  He forgave me!  I’m trying to think up more words to describe the immensity of this, but it’s not happening.

John crystalized this point 1 John 1:9:

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness”

We need to come out of the chastisement to confession and repentance, but don’t ever forget who is doing the work here.  God chooses to forgive you and divert the wrath for your sin on to His Son.  Do not take it lightly, and hopefully the realization of this will help move us along on the road of sanctification.

Come back soon to read about the next stanza of Psalm 32.

Actions

Information

One response

17 09 2008
Ryan

Dave,
I’m really enjoying your insights into this wonderful Psalm. Thank you for taking the time to remind us of the glory of what our Savior has done!

Leave a Reply

