Learning to Listen to Psalm 51

15 09 2008

Over the last month, I’ve been preaching from Psalm 51, specifically exploring David’s statement in verse 17 “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”  When I first got the idea to do this sermon series, I had no clue how rich and deep this Psalm was, nor how easy it would have been for me to spend several months exploring its themes.  However, I should have known.  A few weeks after I began studying for the messages, I came across this new book by Paul David Trip: Whiter than Snow; Meditations on Sin and Mercy.  This book is 52(!) devotionals gleaned from the truths and themes of Psalm 51.  As I worked through the preaching series, I used this books as a means to keep my heart sensitive towards the power of this passage and to help me see beyond my often narrow focus.  What a blessing this devotional book has proved to be!  I highly recommend you purchase it and spend the next 52 days (or more) just learning to listen to the richness of Psalm 51.

For more information on this book, check out this free sample of its contents.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 09 2008
Rachel

Hey Ryan, I just left a message for your wife. I guess I’m just missing you guys this morning. Wanted you to know I’m praying for your mom, hope you’re able to keep updates on here so we know of any new prayer requests. That book looks very interesting, I’ve been mostly staying in the Psalms lately and have found it refreshing. Hope you have a good day and I’ll see you later.

Love, Rachel

16 09 2008
Susanne

Ryan, your passion for this topic as well as the conviction and understanding the Lord has given you through Psalm 51 really came through in the sermon series. Cary and I both enjoyed the teaching and found it dovetailed well with our study of Trip’s book on marriage. Nice job!

p.s. please don’t apologize for word studies– they do so much to enhance our understanding of God’s word.

Leave a Reply

