Psalm 32 Part 2 – The Darkness Before the Light

14 09 2008

I am working through Psalm 32 in an attempt to share it’s depth with you as well as help my endeavor to commit it to memory.  Read my thoughts on the previous stanza here.

Psalm 32:2-3

“When I kept silent about my sin, my body wasted away
Through my groaning all day long.
For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me;
My vitality was drained away as with the fever heat of summer”

Sin destroys stuff.  That may sound simplistic, but I am being purposefully broad.  Sin destroys careers.  Sin destroys lives.  Sin destroys relationships.  Sin destroys good intentions.  Sin destroys everything.  Additionally, sin destroys continuously.  What I mean here is that sin will keep on destroying until it is dealt with.  It’s not like a punch from a bully who then runs away.  It’s like the sieges from medieval times that were defined by continuous bombardment for months or years on end.

If you sin and figure it is done with and can be forgotten, you are in for a miserable time.  Nothing works right.  You act differently towards your coworkers, your kids, your spouse, and most importantly God.  You are ashamed to come to Him, so you avoid prayer and His Word.  That’s a downhill spiral if ever there was one.

But God loves you.  And the Lord disciplines those He loves.  David indicates that God will press us to lead us into repentance.  It won’t be fun, but God knows the destructive power of sin, and the sooner we repent and lay our sins bare to God, the sooner we can begin healing what sin was busy tearing apart.

I like the use of the word “vitality” in the last line.  Speaking of our effectiveness and zeal, it reminds me that I’m kidding myself if I think I can have unconfessed sin and effectively serve God at the same time.  We already need all the help we can get from the Holy Spirit to serve. If we try going it alone (as I put it above), and our vitality is being drained during this lonely chapter where we are running from God, our service is going to be lackluster at best, harmful at worst.  Whatever it is, it will never be pleasing to God (see Hosea 6:6 and Isaiah 1:15-18)

Come back soon to read about the next stanza of Psalm 32.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

