Psalm 32 Part 1 – The Blessings of Forgiveness

12 09 2008

I have felt convicted that I don’t have enough scripture committed to memory.  I’m pretty good at attaching themes and concepts to books or chapters of the Bible, but I’m pretty lacking in rote memorization.  To that end, I decided to try to memorize something and happened to fall to Psalm 32.  I’ve been captivated by it since and while I still struggle to get it locked into my long term memory, I’m enjoying going back to it again and again and relishing it’s message.  I decided to write about it here partially to share what I’ve enjoyed from this psalm, partially to continue to saturate my brain with it so it will become as easy to recite at the star-spangled banner.

Psalm 32:1-2

“How blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven,
Whose sin is covered!
How blessed is the man to whom the Lord does not impute iniquity,
And in whose spirit there is no deceit!”

Have you ever been driving along when the car behind you starts emanating red and blue lights from it’s roof?  It’s about one of the most sickening feelings I’ve ever had, and thankfully I haven’t had it for a long time.  I remember when I was in high school I was once kindly reminded by a police officer of the speed limit, and I felt like I was going to throw up.  When he said he was going to let me off with a warning, I was elated.  I was so relieved that I was going to go home and it would be like it never happened.  It was a very good feeling.

That’s about as close as I can come to a secular example of what David is singing about in the beginning of Psalm 32.  Although really, it doesn’t come close.  I was still guilty of speeding.  The officer, while he didn’t write me a ticket, could have passed me on the street and yelled “that guy breaks the rules!” and I would have no retort.  The penalty I avoided was would have been absorbed into my budget within a couple months.  While I learned my lesson, I did not become thereafter a perfect driver.  I consider myself a safe and rule-following driver in general, but I have my bonehead moments just like the rest of you (does a yellow light mean slow down or speed up?).

When God forgives our sins, so much more happens.  We are blameless!  Romans 8:33 says that no one can bring a charge against a child of God (see Ephesians 4:1).  We are saved from eternal pain and suffering!  The wages of our sin is death, not just a $93 fine (see Revelation 20:15).  We are cleaned from our sin!  At salvation, we are saved from the power of sin.  That means throughout our lives, the Holy Spirit will lead us to commit less and less sin (1 John 3:2-10) until finally in heaven, we will be saved from the presence of sin (Philippians 1:6).  Hallelujah!

Reflecting on this forgiveness should drive us to worship all day long.  If it doesn’t, we probably should reflect on it more intensely.  Myself included.

Come back soon to read about the next stanza of Psalm 32.

Actions

Information

One response

12 09 2008
Bob Allen

Interesting paradox, that you are driven by conviction to memorize something about forgiveness. Just observing –

Bob

Leave a Reply

