From the Margin of… John 4:23

27 05 2008

Where does true worship come from? I don’t mean good singing or a really great Sunday service, but true humility before God; that place where I am viewing both myself and God correctly? 

I wrote down the following quote from John Piper in my Bible next to John 4:23.  See if these thoughts don’t help answer this question and explain some of what Jesus packed into that wonderful statement: “But an hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth; for such people the Father seeks to be His worshipers.”

The fuel for worship is the truth of God, the furnace of worship is the spirit of man, and the heat of worship is the vital affections of reverence, conviction, trust, gratitude, and joy.  But there is something missing from this picture… there must be ignition and fire.  This is the Holy Spirit.   

I find this quote challenges me to acknowledge God’s sovereignty over all things, specifically my worship.  As I fill my mind with the truth of God, this activity must be accompanied the Spirit’s ministry of illumination.  This quote reminds me to be seeking, through humble prayer, the Spirit’s ministry; that He would set the truth ablaze in my spirit so that my affections would long for the True and Living God and my will would manifest the Spirit’s work through my faithful obedience.  Then I will have a life of a true worshiper, who both glorifies and delights my God.

Actions

Information

One response

21 04 2010
Georgette S. Moss

This was a timely word worship.

Leave a Reply

