Ah, Holy Jesus

20 05 2008

I asked one of our pianists to pick some of the songs for our evening service this last Sunday. One of the songs she chose was “Ah, Holy Jesus.” I had never heard this song before, but was blown away by both the humbling message and the haunting melody. The lyrics brought us face to face with our sin (or better said “me face to face with my sin”) and the minor key that drives the accompaniment set the perfect musical tone.

Thank you, Becky, for expandning our musical library!

In case you’re not familiar with this song, below are the lyrics and a link to the music.

“Ah, Holy Jesus”
(click for midi file)

Ah, holy Jesus, how hast thou offended,
That man to judge thee hath in hate pretended?
By foes derided, by thine own rejected,
O most afflicted.

Who was the guilty? who brought this upon thee?
Alas, my treason, Jesus, hath undone thee.
‘Twas I, Lord Jesus, I it was denied thee:
I crucified thee.

Lo, the good Shepherd for the sheep is offered:
The slave hath sinned, and the Son hath suffered:
For man’s atonement, while he nothing heedeth,
God intercedeth.

For me, kind Jesus, was thine incarnation,
Thy mortal sorrow, and thy life’s oblation:
Thy death of anguish and thy bitter passion,
For my salvation.

Therefore, kind Jesus, since I cannot pay thee,
I do adore thee, and will ever pray thee
Think on thy pity and thy love unswerving,
Not my deserving.

Actions

Information

One response

10 05 2010
MicifWyy2

Sensational looking website, exactly where did you get the web theme?

Leave a Reply

