The Heavens are Telling…

1 05 2008

To say yesterday’s post went far beyond my expectations would be an understatement.  I appreciate all of the dialogue it generated and I learned a lot from the comments and the process.  I still have several comments holding in the moderation bin.  Some of them are nice, some not so nice, and some lengthy and technical.  I decided a little after 4 yesterday to close off the comments for a few reasons. 

First, if I hadn’t, I think we’d still be having the discussion.  Just a few days ago I wrote “I’m greedy for thoughtful interaction.”  Yesterday, I ended up laughing at that statement as I realized I don’t have enough time for this much thoughtful interaction! 

Second, I ended the discussion because this blog is not a forum for that type of lengthy and technical discussion of evolution and intelligent design.  There are blogs that are designed just for that purpose, with moderators who are far more knowledgeable than I am on both subjects.  I noticed that some of you have blogs or have begun blogs that focus primarily on this topic and I plan to stop by from time to time and see how the discussion is progressing.

So, since this is my blog, I thought I’d conclude yesterday’s topic with these thoughts. 

As I was reflecting on our discussion the passage that came to mind was Psalm 19:1-6 “The heavens are telling of the glory of God; and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands. Day to day pours forth speech, and night to night reveals knowledge. There is no speech, nor are there words; their voice is not heard. Their line has gone out through all the earth, and their utterances to the end of the world. In them He has placed a tent for the sun, which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber; it rejoices as a strong man to run his course. Its rising is from one end of the heavens, and its circuit to the other end of them; and there is nothing hidden from its heat.”

It is a sad reality that many can look at those awesome wonders yet not find the same response as the Psalmist welling up in their heart and bursting forth in praise to our Maker.  It is a testimony to the tragic consequences of the fall, that we can live amidst a creation so amazingly beautiful, complex, and wonderful and yet fail to see the glory of the One who made it all. 

What can open our eyes so that we can join the Psalmist’s song, so that we can praise the Maker of Heaven and Earth?  Not clever arguments or persuasive words of wisdom.  Cogent arguments are important and intellectual debate sharpens, but a heart to understand and eyes to see only comes from above.  It is God the Holy Spirit Who, by His grace, gives light to our darkened minds and turns those who reject God into those who delight in Him.  It only happens through the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  His sacrifice on the cross not only purchased for us deliverance from condemnation, but it also gives us the ability to see His glory all around and affections that delight in the work of His hands. 

When this divine work happens in us, a work not of our own ability but entirely a gift of God, everything changes.  Science, or any other intellectual pursuit, ceases to be an end in and of itself, and instead it become a means to greater joy and greater wonder in the One who made us. 

I don’t share these thoughts as some sort of self-righteous condemnation.  I did not share the gospel in the comments yesterday so that ”my religion” can get your “money.”  I share these truths out of gratitude to God and a love for others.  I praise God for saving me and confess that it was in spite of me, not because of me.  My desire is that all will come to join with the Psalmist and experience the joy of praising our Creator and the rapture of knowing the Author of everything.

Actions

Information




