When the Light Dawns…

25 02 2008

Yesterday was full of emptiness, with waves that crashed and broke me down;
I felt like I felt nothing
but my charlatan heart played out sincerity.
I knew You were there (how could I forget?)
but everything seemed to distance me, to wash You out.
There was so much noise inside I couldn’t hear my heart,
or even feel the ebb and flow of my soul.
But then came light- glorious, sorrowful, liberating, painful light!
It showed me what I didn’t want to see
but what I knew was already there.
It showed me the truth of my façade,
It tore away my grotesque mask to remind me of the beauty You have placed within.
Oh, Christ my Conqueror, destroy the walls of my hypocrisy!
Change my heart so that it pumps Your virtue through my soul
and Your character radiates through the walls of this mortality.
Forgive me for a backwards Christianity.

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 02 2008
Jenaya

I really enjoyed this poem. Did you write it?

26 02 2008
Ryan

Yup. I wrote it in response to a sermon I read by Thomas Watson on “hypocrisy.” God used Watson’s message to really expose some things in my heart. I used to write stuff like this when I was your age (back when I was young!) but I haven’t done it for a while. I enjoyed doing it again and it became part of the repentance process God brought me through.

27 02 2008
Susanne

Ryan,
I am encouraged by how this poem stands in contrast to the postmodern Christian thinking so prevalent today. This is the truth of our condition; this is why we need Him.

27 02 2008
Jenaya

Well i really enjoyed and am glad that you wrote it. :) Jenaya
P.S. Your still young!

Leave a Reply

