Care to Accept a Challenge?

24 02 2008

Last week, I came across a “challenge” at Timmy Brister’s blog Provocations and Pantings.  He is encouraging others to get acquainted with the Puritans by taking a “Puritan Reading Challenge.”  On his blog, he has laid out a monthly reading list that serves as a great and diverse introduction to Puritan thought and writing.  Several bloggers have accepted the challenge (over 100!) and are conversing in the blogosphere about what they are reading.

After reading through Timmy’s list, I decided to accept the challenge (although I’m almost two months late).  Why did I accept?

First, as I have been growing in my love for Puritan teaching and preaching I have acquired a number of Puritan titles.  However, I haven’t really had any set “plan” about how to approach them.  The Puritan Challenge reading list, being balanced among a variety of authors and topics, sets out a great plan to follow and I really thank Tim for taking the time to share it.  I’m looking forward to walking down this monthly path to a better acquaintance with a number of Puritan authors.   

Second, because the Challenge is built around the Puritan Paperback collection, each month’s title is very affordable (most books are around $6, with the most expensive title being $8).  Reformation Heritage Books even put together a package deal, where you can purchase all 12 books for only $65.00!  This makes it easy to add a new book each month and not feel like I am doing damage to the family budget (with a new baby on the way, this is important!).

And, lastly, I accepted the challenge because it is always more enjoyable to read through a book with others.  I’m looking forward to reading what others have to say about each month’s book and for engaging in some intra-blogosphere discussion.  

So, what about you?  Interested in joining the challenge?  Don’t worry if you don’t have a blog, you can always come here to discuss what you’re reading!

My plan is to begin with the March title, which happens to be Thomas Watson’s A Godly Man’s Picture.  (When I saw that it was next on the list, I got really excited since it was sitting on my “to-be-read” shelf!)  The book is affordable ($ 6.50 at Monergism), easy to read, and short (only 250 small pages).   Throughout the month I’ll put up a few posts with some of my thoughts on the book, some quotes, and maybe a topic or two for discussion.  I’d love to have you join me in reading the book and then weigh in on what you think.

So, what do you say?  Are you up for a challenge?

For more information on the “Challenge” or to see the full reading list, click on the link below. 

Puritan Reading Challenge

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

