The Testimony of Two More

23 02 2008

How are you doing in your commitment to pray during these 40 days (Feb. 6th- March 16th) for an end to abortion?  I hope you have made the decision to join us in prayer and that this issue weighs heavy on your heart.  I praise God that this week, as I again gathered with others to pray outside of the local Planned Parenthood, I was joined by my friends Jenaya and Becky who stood with me and prayed for 2 hours!  My heart was so encouraged by their presence and to be part of a group of believers filling the sidewalk in front of that evil place with the sounds of scripture, song, and prayer.  At one point we had a lovely choir of eight singing “Amazing Grace” and joining together in reading Psalm 103:1-2!

I asked Jenaya and Becky if they would share with you some of their thoughts on our time at the prayer vigil and they graciously agreed (and wonderfully exceeded my expectations!).  I hope their “testimony” of our time together in prayer will encourage others to join with us during these 40 days, and not just pray with us from home but make your presence known publicly by joining a prayer vigil in your area.  Again, if you’d like to join me this week, just drop me a note and let me know.  Now to the testimonies… 

Jenaya writes:
Ryan invited me to go with him on Monday to planned parenthood to peacefully protest abortion through song and prayer. It’s in my nature to protest things and I believe strongly in ending abortion, so I decided without a ton of thought to participate. Ryan had been there the previous week and had given me some amount of insight as to what to expect, but I was surprised at how it affected myself. When we got there a kind old man named Bud gave us signs to hold and had us sign a peaceful agreement form. For over an hour we prayed and sang songs. While we were petitioning God to end abortion we also worshiped and praised him in the process. Bud spoke so passionately about his desire to end this evil that has been transpiring legally for over 30 years in our country. He was sincerely heart broken for the unborn children that die everyday.

The Lord really helped me see his heart for these children and I was truly moved by Bud and his desire for abortion to end. He not only talked about how horrible it was, but he put in to action his beliefs and stood up for what is wrong. I was challenged to do the same and am thankful for the opportunity presented to me by Ryan and am glad that I accepted. If protesting is not something that is for you then I challenge you to do what is the most affective way to end abortion: pray fervently that the people in our country will see truly how heinous this is and how it is not some thing that should be supported. Pray for mothers who are contemplating the decision that God would send someone to help them, Pray that the doctors and workers that enable abortions would see how wrong it truly is. Ultimately God is the one who will change this and he asks us to pray. ‘If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.’  2 Chronicles 7:14.

Becky writes:
How great is our God!  This refrain has been going through my head since participating in the prayer vigil in front of Planned Parenthood four days ago.  There are several reasons the experience shouted this truth.

Having never participated in a prayer vigil, I expected to be standing with other believers as we silently and individually prayed.  While we did pray like this at times, much of the time was spent reading verses aloud as we praised God for His greatness and holiness; confessed our sins; and petitioned Him for His mercy and grace to change the lives of ourselves, our churches, mothers, fathers, doctors, our country,…   We also sang of His truth, His love, His amazing grace, … The complete focus on our holy, all-powerful, gracious God was overwhelming.  I had not anticipated worshipping God in such a way as I joined the others near the sidewalk.  What a blessing to read and sing and proclaim to the Lord – in front of others – how awesome He is!

As we prayed and sang and read His Word, I was struck by His grace.  It is only by His grace that I was on THAT side of the sidewalk.  I was humbled and thankful and my heart went out to those who don’t know God’s truth; those who believe lies; those who think abortion is okay.  And I was grateful – not only that God saved me – but that He was using us to help spread His Word.  Only He knows how those who passed us were affected by His Word.  Had we not been there, no one would have been affected.  What a great God to open eyes, to save unconditionally because of His Son’s sacrifice, and to use us to further His kingdom!  He sovereignly placed each one of us in front of Planned Parenthood that day for His glory and for our good.  What an awesome God!

Being a person who shies away from confrontation and uncomfortable attention, I was apprehensive about participating in the prayer vigil, holding signs, being one of those “fanatics.”  I was convicted that I had been doing nothing about this murdering of babies, and wanted to participate because of that, but I still felt unsure…until God used His Word to cut through my fear.  In our church’s Bible reading plan, we were in the Leviticus, and I came across chapter 20 verses 4-5a… “If the people of the community close their eyes when that man gives one of his children to Molech and they fail to put him to death, I will set my face against that man and his family…”  God does not want us to ignore sin.  When we do, we are guilty.  For the most part, I had been ignoring the sin of abortion.  I would pray about it now and then and would be saddened over the murder of babies and would vote for pro-life candidates.  But what else had I done?  Pretty much nothing.  God is so amazing to use His Word to convict, encourage, and strengthen us.  His purpose is all that matters and we are to be about our Father’s work.  I am so blessed to see how God gave me His strength.  He always does when we obey Him!

And lastly, I was struck that God is so powerful that He can overthrow Satan’s strong lies.  He can overthrow abortion.  He can open the eyes of those who have condoned or participated in abortions and completely change their minds.  He is holy, yet He covers our sins when we trust in Him.  Though our sins are like scarlet, He makes us white as snow as He covers us with His Son.  How beautiful.  How powerful.  How gracious.  And how wonderful to know there is Hope for us, for our families, for our nation, for our world because of Him.

Truly how great is our God!  And I thank Him for allowing me to participate in this prayer vigil that so clearly proclaimed Him.”

Thanks again, ladies, for your words and (more importantly) your actions.  I praise God for you and you are both a great encouragement to me!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

