“Pledge a Picketer”

15 02 2008

“Pledge a Picketer”Pray for Life
Those were the words printed on a banner that hung outside the Planned Parenthood I prayed in front of on Monday.  Apparently, Planned Parenthood has a program where their donors give money based on the number of “picketers” that stand outside their abortion clinics.  It turned my stomach to think that the leadership of Planned Parenthood is using people’s care and concern for the unborn as a means to raise profits for their own assault on life.  Their perversion of something good reminded me of God’s judgment upon Israel for their own twisting of righteous actions: “Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter…Therefore, as tongues of fire lick up straw and as dry grass sinks down in the flames, so their roots will decay and their flowers blow away like dust; for they have rejected the law of the LORD Almighty and spurned the word of the Holy One of Israel” (Isaiah 5:20, 24).

I don’t share this to dissuade anyone from praying against or protesting what is going on inside those clinics.  Actually, my time of prayer on Monday greatly encouraged me to do more in the fight against abortion.  I met a dear older brother named “Bud” who had been praying outside Planned Parenthood clinics for over 23 years.  He regularly participates in “sidewalk counseling” (encouraging mothers, who are on their way into the clinic to have an abortion, to reconsider and choose life) and the more time I spent with him, the more I praised God that a man like him (with a loving heart and a kind way about him) had been called to plead with those who were in that desperate place.  He shared that over the years he had helped save 60 babies!  He lamented that the numbers weren’t higher, but I praised God with him for those 60 children and their parents who were spared the horrors of abortion.  

Bud shared with me how the particular clinic we were praying outside of had closed its doors and moved 3 times.  Each time he and others like him found the new location and again took up their post outside the clinic doors to pray and encourage those visiting the clinic to choose life.  His is a powerful testimony (God brought this Roman Catholic to Himself through the reading of the Word and Bud now describes himself as a “born again”) and it was wonderful to see a man like him committed to this issue.

But we need more.  

My plan is to go back and again pray and sing and share the scripture outside that place.  I’d love to have others join me.  I’d love to have a hundred others join me and see a generations of men and women like Bud rise up and honor God.  As for the “Pledge a Picketer” campaign, I don’t care about their dumb sign or their wicked pledge program.  No matter how much money they raise, it will never come close to the value of those 60 lives saved.

…  

For more information on 40 Days for Life or to find a prayer vigil in your location click here.

For the truth about Planned Parenthood, go back through this post and click on the Planned Parenthood hot links; but be prepared, the truth is shocking.      

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 02 2008
Eric

It is unfortunate that Planned Parenthood does, and gets away with, what they do. However, we can rejoice that they are “mounding heaps of coal on their head.” I pray that more women who go there know the truth before they commit. If I didn’t have to work during the week, I would love to go down there and spend time with Bud and you Ryan, praying, singing and reading scripture. God bless!

9 10 2008
Leah

I’d like to ask, what are you doing to help the women that come to these clinics for yearly gynological exams, breast exams, and other important and routine yearly exams. What about women trying to receive treatment or get tested for STDs? Do you know that a majority of women going to these centers do not have access to health insurance, and that Planned Parenthood gives these women access to these services for free or a fee based on their income? I understand your stance about abortion, but that is only a small factor of the services Planned Parenthood offers. I have heard about your Pregnancy Crisis Centers as an “alternative” to Planned Parenthood, but all they do is give pregnancy tests, prepare the woman with a few supplies for when she has her baby, and sends her on her way. They don’t even have doctors! As one of many uninsured Americans, these Pregnancy Crisis Centers do not offer me an alternative to planned parenthood, as they cannot provide me with these critical exams that I need every year as an adult college student to know that I am a healthy woman. I just want to know what your side can offer me besides a pregnancy test and a few supplies for the baby I am not pregnant with? What can your side offer me if you ever became successful at closing down Planned Parenthood forever? Why would you take medical care away from the millions of uninsured women who want to be examined and to screen for things like cancer before it becomes too late? I have been asking myself these questions for years, and would really like an answer from someone. An answer not filled with quotes from the bible, as that is not going to protect me and the millions of other women who use Planned Parenthood from cervical cancer, breast cancer, STDs, cysts, etc.

9 10 2008
Ryan

The issue is really about abortion. I am not trying to stand in the way of you getting health services. If such screenings were all the Planned Parenthood provided, I wouldn’t be standing out on the sidewalk praying for the closing of their doors. They are taking human lives, week in and week out. To justify keeping such an institution open so that it can provide free services for you is to turn a blind eye to the evil being committed for your own personal gain.
As to your question of where women will get these free services, my question is why should a tax payer have to cover your medical costs for you? If you want to avoid paying for STD tests, don’t have sex until your married. If you want health care, pay for the insurance to cover it.
Are you really comfortable with saying that it is ok to sacrifice unborn children so you and other women can have free STD tests?

14 10 2008
Sarah

I was under the impression that there are other clinics that offer these services for free, as well. But, anyhow, if one supports the right to abort, one will have no qualms about using the services of an abortion clinic.
It WOULD be nice if someone could come up with a solution to the insurance issue. Twice we’ve had to go to the emergency room for real, legitimate emergencies, only to be placed behind dozens of folks with no insurance waiting for a physical or routine exam. I do not exaggerate. Ironically, we have insurance, which we can only barely afford, and it covers very little. But that’s not the real issue here.
To assume that just because a person is pro-life that they would only give you the option of a Crisis-Pregnancy Center is just as narrow-minded as you claim the author (Ryan) to be. Its just an excuse to say that those against abortion are heartless and cruel. There are ALWAYS options. Planned Parenthood just makes it easy, anonymous, and responsibility-free.
Now, how did I get caught up in a 8 month-old thread??

15 10 2008
Dave

I know this is an old post, but just in case anyone else stumbles upon this thread, I did a little research. I found places where you can get the stuff Leah was talking about for free or low-cost… and no babies have to die! It’s a no-brainer, right? Something tells me Leah won’t be showing up to picket with Ryan anytime soon…

– STD screening
– Job/Housing search assistance
http://www.care-net.org/ourwork/inside.php

– Breast exams
– Pap test
http://apps.nccd.cdc.gov/cancercontacts/nbccedp/contacts.asp

Leave a Reply

