Stricken, Smitten, and Afflicted

11 01 2008

Last month, I came across this hymn (written by Thomas Kelly) while listen to Fernando Ortega’s Beginnings.  I was working in my office, studying the Gospel of John, when the song came through my iPod speakers.  I stopped and listened carefully to the words.  I then restarted the song because I wanted to hear it from the beginning.  Still not satisfied, I logged onto The Cyber Hymnal so I could read the words as I listend to Fernando sing them.  Needless to say, the song has overwhelmed me.  Whenever it comes on my iPod, I stop what I’m doing and focus on the song, allowing myself to reflect on what our Savior has done for us. 
I post the words of this hymn today, hoping they encourage you to mediate on the power and wonder of the Cross. 
I’d also recommend picking up Beginnings, as it is full of wonderful sacred music.

Stricken, smitten, and afflicted, See Him dying on the tree!
’Tis the Christ by man rejected; Yes, my soul, ’tis He, ’tis He!
’Tis the long expected prophet, David’s Son, yet David’s Lord;
By his Son God now has spoken: ’Tis the true and faithful Word.

Tell me, ye who hear Him groaning, Was there ever grief like His?
Friends through fear His cause disowning, Foes insulting his distress:
Many hands were raised to wound Him, None would interpose to save;
But the deepest stroke that pierced Him Was the stroke that Justice gave.

Ye who think of sin but lightly, Nor suppose the evil great,
Here may view its nature rightly, Here its guilt may estimate.
Mark the Sacrifice appointed! See Who bears the awful load!
’Tis the Word, the Lord’s Anointed, Son of Man, and Son of God.

Here we have a firm foundation, Here the refuge of the lost.
Christ the Rock of our salvation, Christ the Name of which we boast.
Lamb of God for sinners wounded! Sacrifice to cancel guilt!
None shall ever be confounded Who on Him their hope have built.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 01 2008
Susanne

Ryan,

I already had a short playlist of Fernando O on my player, but this Beginnings collection is a treasure. I downloaded the whole thing off Rhapsody and have been blessed and blessed by it all week. This is where I want to live!

Susanne

26 01 2008
Ryan

When I first downloaded it from iTunes, I thought I would wear out my iPod listening to it! His music is so rich! Another great hymns CD is Chris Rice’s Peace Like a River.

Leave a Reply

