All Things New

1 01 2008

Today we celebrate the beginning of a new year.  The old year, with all its disappointments and failings, is over and we view today as the gift of a clean slate.  Many people will make resolutions and set goals (some of them grand) for the new year. 

However, does a new calendar really wipe away all the mistakes we made? Does it really warrant a new set of promises that often will roll into the disappointments we’ll want to forget next year?  

As I was thinking this morning about this ‘human’ celebration and the idea that the change of a calendar can give us a fresh start, it brought to mind a change that is really worth celebrating.

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is among men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be among them, and He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.” And He who sits on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” And He said, “Write, for these words are faithful and true.” (Revelation 21:1-5)

When God “changes the calendar” everything truly is wiped away and for those in Christ there will be no disappointments to follow. 
That is the new year I’m looking forward to. 

  

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2008
Robert Mullen

I would like to simply add an “amen” to that my brother.

1 01 2008
Dave Allen

Can I throw out that my last year was not defined by disappointments and failings? Mine was defined by God’s provision, grace and mercy! I know I’m still just a young’n compared to a lot of my friends and acquaintances, but I was just thinking this morning about how I appreciate having another year as a child of God under my belt. Every experience I go through in which God makes His hand evident strengthens my faith and will be remembered in harder times to come.

When Psalm 33 says “For the word of the Lord is right and true; He is faithful in all He does,” you have to ask yourself, how do we know God is faithful? While ultimate authority lies in God’s word alone, one has to admit that there is a difference between a brand new christian reflecting on the truth that “He is faithful” and the saint of 40 years who has seen God’s faithfulness throughout his life reflecting on the same truth. I’m excited for next year not because the last one stunk so much, but because God once again proved that He will not fail me and my family.

Last year, God chipped away at some specific sins in my life, he kept my kids alive in spite of their attempts to do otherwise, he provided my family with a house (a milestone I honestly thought we would never be able to afford), and many, many other mercies. I will treasure these in my heart and fight to keep from forgetting them when I get downtrodden in years to come. How blessed we are!

Leave a Reply

