The Power of a Foolish Message

13 12 2007

I love the Gospel.  I love the way it destroys my pride and yet gives me joy.  I love the way it makes me stand in silent awe and yet fills me with so many words of praise.  I love the way it appears both amazingly foolish (a 2,000 year old message of a murdered Jew is relevant to me today?) and yet so gloriously wise (“For God has shut up all in disobedience so that He may show mercy to all. Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God!”-Romans 11:32-33).  What an amazing message!

So, why would the Church try to water it down or preach something else?

Phil Johnson over at PyroManiacs examines this question through some great meditations on 1 Corinthians 1:21-22.  Take the time to check it out. You’ll be glad you did.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

