Delighting in the Gospel

4 12 2007

The CrossO God, Thou art very great,
  My lot is to approach Thee with godly fear
  and humble confidence,
  for Thy condescension equals Thy grandeur,
  and Thy goodness is Thy glory.
I am unworthy, but Thou dost welcome;
  guilty, but Thou are merciful;
  indigent, but Thy riches are unsearchable.
Thou hast shown boundless compassion
    towards me
  by not sparing Thy Son,
  and by giving me freely all things in Him;
This is the foundation of my hope,
  the refuge of my safety,
  the new and living way to Thee,
  the means of that conviction of sin,
       brokeness of heart, and self-despair,
       which will endear to me the gospel.
                (from “Confidence” in The Valley of Vision)

“Now I saw in my dream, that the highway up which Christian was to go, was fenced on either side with a wall, and that wall was called Salvation.  Up this way therefore did burdened Christian run, but not without great difficulty, because of the Load on his back.
He ran thus till he came at a place somewhat ascending, and upon that place stood a Cross, and a little below, in the bottom, a Sepulchre.  So I saw in my dream, that just as Christian came up with the Cross, his Burden loosed from off his shoulders, and fell from off his back, and began to tumble, and so continued to do, till it came to the mouth of the Sepulchre, where it fell in, and I saw it no more.
Then was Christian glad and lightsome, and said with a merry heart, He hath given my Rest by His Sorrow, and Life by His Death. Then he stood still a while to look and wonder; for it was very surprising to him that the sight of the Cross should thus ease him of his Burden.  He looked therefore, and looked again, even till the springs that were in his head sent the waters down his cheeks.”
    (from Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan)

[I saved the best for last!]
“31 What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us? 32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things? 33 Who will bring a charge against God’s elect? God is the one who justifies; 34 who is the one who condemns? Christ Jesus is He who died, yes, rather who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who also intercedes for us. 35 Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 Just as it is written, “For Your sake we are being put to death all day long; We were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” 37 But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
    (from Romans 8)

I hope this has encouraged you as much as it has me- what a glorious gift is our salvation!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 02 2013
http://yahoo.com

“Delighting in the Gospel Out of the Miry Clay” was
indeed truly enjoyable and educational! In the present day universe honestly, that is tough to
accomplish. Many thanks, Sherlene

28 07 2014
turtles for sale online

Hurrah! At last I got a website from where I be capable of genuinely take useful data concerning my study and knowledge.

Leave a Reply

