Psalm 40:1-2

26 11 2007

The title for my blog comes from this wonderful Psalm of David’s deliverance.  I first read Psalm 40 as a teenager and David’s words resonated with my own cry.  I was overwhelmed by the guilt of my sin in the face of God’s holiness and was feeling much like Christian in the Slough of Despond.   This verse was a Divine answer and I praise God for the glorious gift of salvation through my Lord Jesus Christ.
As I read these verses, I thought of my own perilous condition, that of being sunk deep in the pit of sin, unable to get any footing… all I could do was cry out!  But what a deliverance!  God did rescue me and set my feet upon a rock and made my footsteps firm.  God saved me and lead me into ministry (which is another story I’ll probably write about down the road).  I have been working in a church for 10 years now and have been happily married to my beautiful wife, Amy, for 9 years.  We have two children: Rylie Karis, our 2 year old joy, and Anna Sophia, the gift I am waiting for (Amy is 6 months pregnant at the time of my writing). 
These are just some of the blessings that God has given me over these last 19 years of relationship with Him.  My desire is to be able to write, record, and share my thoughts and reflections about this God who saved me and the life He has given me.

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 11 2007
Frank Emrich

As one who has great admiration for your theological depth and whole hearted commitment to our Savior I am excited to see your blog. I appreciated your commentary on experiencing trials for the glory of God. As to your question “what will God have to do to bring me to the end of my self sufficiency” He will probably continue to have you serve HIm with me! That should drive you to the cross daily! Thank you Ryan for being a godly man who not only loves the church I love, but also my beautiful daughter and grandaughters. Your grateful father in law.

29 11 2007
mark

I look forward to reading your blog. If you don’t mind, I will add your link to my blog.

30 11 2007
Jeff Moline

Before Grace was born, I would have had no emotional idea of what you were talking about. But I cried when I read “A Love I Didn’t Know”. I could not have said it better myself. My daughter has changed me. God has shown me things that have been missing in my life. Including a real love for HIM. Thank you Ryan for pointing me in the right direction. Thank you Grace for showing me how to really love. And thank you God for putting both of these great people in my life.

30 11 2007
Ryan

Thanks for the comment, Jeff. Your daughter is beautiful! What a blessing. Your words reminded me of those first few weeks with Rylie and how overwhelmingly wonderful they were. Some friends of mine gave me the CD Sing Me to Sleep, Daddy and I would rock Rylie to sleep while we listened to it. The first time, however, I only made it through a song and a half as the reality of being a “Daddy” emotionally overwhelmed me! What a gracious privilege God blesses us with.

Leave a Reply

